Skip to main content
WGC Screenwriting Awards logo
WGC Screenwriting Awards

On Monday, April 25, 2022, the Writers Guild of Canada will hold its annual ceremony in celebration of screenwriting excellence in Canada. 

The 2022 WGC Screenwriting Awards will take place on Monday, April 25. The 26th edition of the awards will also celebrate the 25th anniversary milestone reached in 2021 and at this time is set to take place at Toronto's Koerner Hall.

Nominations are now open from Oct. 12, 2021 until Dec. 5, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. EST for scripts in the following categories:

  • Children’s
  • Comedy Series
  • Documentary
  • Drama Series
  • Feature Film
  • MOW & Miniseries
  • Preschool
  • Shorts
  • Tweens & Teens

*Shorts includes Web Series as well as Drama or Comedy Series with episodes under 15 minutes in length

The awards are open to WGC members only. Guidelines and the entry form are available in our online members portal. (Members must be logged in to access.)

The 2022 Sponsorship Opportunities menu is now available. 

In the meantime, check out the 2021 event program the official winners' announcement, and the full awards ceremony below:

2021 WGC Award Winners
Mark De Angelis


Odd Squad Mobile Unit, “Slow Your Roll”

Daniel Levy

Comedy Series
Schitt’s Creek, “Happy Ending”

Jonny Harris, Fraser Young, Graham Chittenden, Steve Dylan

Still Standing, “Rankin Inlet”

Michelle Latimer, Tony Elliott, Penny Gummerson

Drama Series
Trickster, “Episode 105” 

Tracey Deer, Meredith Vuchnich

Feature Film

Becky Southwell & Dylan Neal

MOW & Miniseries
Gourmet Detective: Roux the Day

J.J. Johnson


Dino Dana, “The Sound of Dinosaurs” 

Simone Swan & The Affolter Brothers

Try to Fly 

Joseph Mallozzi & R.T. Thorne

Tweens & Teens
Utopia Falls, “The World is Yours”

2020 WGC Award Winners
Mark Steinberg

Hotel Transylvania: The Series, “Better Know Your Mavis”

Jann Arden & Jennica Harper

Comedy Series
JANN, “The Big House”
Story by Jann Arden & Jennica Harper, Teleplay by Jennica Harper

Nance Ackerman & Ariella Pahlke & Teresa MacInnes


Noelle Carbone

Drama Series
Coroner, “All’s Well”

Laura Phillips

Feature Film
Sweetness in the Belly

David Elver & Andrea Stevens

Thicker Than Water

J.J. Johnson & Christin Simms & Amish Patel

Dino Dana, “Dino Prints” 

Fabrizio Filippo

Save Me, “Birdie’s End”

Emma Campbell

Tweens & Teens
Creeped Out, “The Takedown”


WGC Showrunner Award

Showrunners are the writers/producers who hold the creative vision for a television series. He or she controls all creative decisions and oversees the series from development, through prep and production, to the completion of post. The showrunner truly is the creative force driving the series, and the WGC Showrunner Award brings Canada’s best showrunners centre stage to be celebrated by their peers. The 2021 recipient is Morwyn Brebner.

Bruce Smith

McGrath Service Award

In 2017, the Writers Block Award was renamed the "Denis McGrath Award for Service to the WGC" to honour the tremendous contribution Denis McGrath made to the Guild. The award is for writers who have demonstrated a record of exceptional service to the Writers Guild of Canada and whose efforts have strengthened the Canadian screenwriting community as a whole. The recipient of award is determined by the Writers Guild of Canada council. The 2019 recipient is Bruce Smith.


Sondra Kelly Award

The Sondra Kelly Award provides $5,000 to women screenwriters in mid-career for research/development on a self-initiated project.

Sondra Kelly was a longtime member of the Writers Guild of Canada. In 2007, she received the WGC Writers Block Award for her record of exceptional service to the WGC and for her work strengthening the Canadian screenwriting community. In addition to serving on the WGC council from January 1997 to December 2003, Sondra occupied the first WGC-designated seat on the Actra Fraternal Benefits Society (AFBS) board (1998-2003). Hers was the first writer’s voice on a board made up of actors, producers, and broadcasters at a time when a writer’s voice was much needed. The 2021 recipient is Kate Hewlett.


Alex Barris Mentorship Award

Alex Barris was a writer, broadcaster, and journalist; a pioneer of Canadian television, and proud member of the WGC. He was also a wonderful mentor, giving his time and talent to new writers who were just getting started in the industry. The Alex Barris Mentorship Award was created after his death in 2004, to keep his name and spirit alive and to perpetuate the tradition of mentorship.

The award, granted biennially, acknowledges a mentor who has significantly helped a writer (or writers) get a start in the business. While the nominator must be a WGC member, the recipient need not be. The 2020 recipient is Nathalie Younglai.


Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize was created to continue the work of the late Jim Burt by recognizing his lifelong commitment to excellence in Canadian longform dramatic writing. The winning screenplay is determined by a jury, which selects the best original, unproduced longform script. The winner is presented with a total prize worth $5,000: a $3,000 cash prize and $2,000 for an experienced story editor (approved by the jury) to further develop the winner’s script. The 2021 recipient is Travis McDonald for Magnificent.