



WGC Screenwriting Awards 2020 Winners Announced Scripts from JANN, Coroner and more score top prizes

Toronto, April 27, 2020— In an awards presentation unlike any other for the Writers Guild of Canada, host Gavin Crawford announced the winners of the 24th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards via the Guild's YouTube channel this evening. Winners of 2020's top prizes include Jann Arden & Jennica Harper (*JANN*), Noelle Carbone (*Coroner*), Laura Phillips (*Sweetness in the Belly*) and Nance Ackerman & Ariella Pahlke & Teresa MacInnes (*Conviction*). Congratulations to 2020's talented winners and nominees. **Please see below for the complete list of winning scripts and screenwriters.**

WGC special awards were also presented, with the WGC Showrunner Award going to Dennis Heaton, the Sondra Kelly Award to Cynthia Knight, and Nathalie Younglai receiving the Alex Barris Mentorship Award.

In light of the cancellation of the 2020 physical awards ceremony due to COVID-19, this year's winners will also be celebrated at the 25th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards, which are set for April 26, 2021 at Toronto's Koerner Hall. In the meantime, the very funny and fast-paced 2020 presentation will remain posted on the <u>WGC YouTube channel</u>. A digital program, listing all nominations, nominees and special awards winners, is also <u>available for download on the Guild's website</u>.

Social media: #WGCAwards2020 @WGCtweet

For more information contact:

Lana Castleman, Director of Communications 416-979-7907 ext. 5234 <u>Lcastleman@wgc.ca</u>





Writers Guild of Canada

2020 WGC SCREENWRITING AWARDS WINNERS

CHILDREN'S Hotel Transylvania: The Series, "Better Know Your Mavis" | Written by **Mark Steinberg**

COMEDY SERIES JANN, "The Big House" | Story by **Jann Arden & Jennica Harper**, Teleplay by **Jennica Harper**

DOCUMENTARY Conviction | Written by Nance Ackerman & Ariella Pahlke & Teresa MacInnes

DRAMA SERIES Coroner, "All's Well" | Written by Noelle Carbone

FEATURE FILM Sweetness in the Belly | Written by Laura Phillips

MOW & MINISERIES Thicker Than Water | Written by David Elver & Andrea Stevens

PRESCHOOL Dino Dana, "Dino Prints" | Written by J.J. Johnson & Christin Simms & Amish Patel

SHORTS & WEBSERIES Save Me, "Birdie's End" | Written by Fabrizio Filippo

TWEENS & TEENS Creeped Out, "The Takedown" | Written by Emma Campbell

SONDRA KELLY AWARD Cynthia Knight

ALEX BARRIS MENTORSHIP AWARD Nathalie Younglai

WGC SHOWRUNNER AWARD Dennis Heaton