



# For Immediate Release

# Canada's top screenwriters honoured at the 2009 WGC Screenwriting Awards

**Toronto – April 20, 2009 –** The Writers Guild of Canada celebrated the winning words of Canadian screenwriters tonight at the 13<sup>th</sup> annual WGC Screenwriting Awards. More than 150 scripts were nominated in the Awards' eleven categories, and 37 finalist scripts vied for the winners' circle.

Screenwriters **Brent Butt** (*Corner Gas*), **Adam Barken** (*Flashpoint*), **Andrew Wreggitt** (*Mayerthorpe*) and **Don McKellar** (*Blindness*) were just of few of those recognized for outstanding scripts. A complete list of winners is attached.

The awards were hosted by **Geri Hall**, and written by **Kyle Tingley** and Geri Hall. Geri and Kyle were also among the winners for their part in an ensemble *22 Minutes* script.

Dishing the awards were special guest presenters including **Yannick Bisson** (*Murdoch Mysteries*), **Tara Spencer-Nairn** (*Corner Gas*), **Zaib Shaikh** (*Little Mosque*) and screenwriters **Tassie Cameron** (*Flashpoint, Would be Kings*), **Andy Marshall** (*Soul*), **Peter Mohan** (*Blood Ties, The Bridge*), **Jennifer Podemski** (*Moccasin Flats, Rabbit Fall*), **Kevin White** (*Corner Gas*) and **Sherry White** (*Sophie, Crackie*).

Screenwriter **Mark Farrell** (*Corner Gas, 22 Minutes*) was presented with the 3rd Annual WGC Showrunner Award to honour his exceptional leadership and creative vision.

For more information, or to set up a post-Awards interview with a 2009 WGC Screenwriting Award winner, please contact David Kinahan, 416-979-7907 x5234.

more...

# 13<sup>th</sup> Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards Winners

#### ANIMATION

*Ricky Sprocket*, *Showbiz Boy* "The Perfect Family" Written by Shane Simmons

## **CHILDREN & PRESCHOOL**

*Captain Flamingo* "Comic Slip" Written by Christin Simms

#### DOCUMENTARY

Passage Documentary Script Written by John Walker

#### **EPISODIC** <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> hour

*Corner Gas* "Full Load" Written by Brent Butt

#### **EPISODIC 1 hour**

*Flashpoint* "Who's George?" Written by Adam Barken

FEATURE FILM Blindness Screenplay by Don McKellar

MOW & MINISERIES Mayerthorpe Written by Andrew Wreggitt

#### **RADIO DRAMA**

*Afghanada* "The Lotus Eater - Part 1 of 3" Written by Greg Spottiswood

#### SHORT FILM

*Awkward* Written by Kellie Ann Benz

#### VARIETY

*This Hour Has 22 Minutes* XVI "Episode 1" Head Writer: Jennifer Whalen / Written by Mark Critch, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Jennifer Whalen, Albert Howell, Tim McAuliffe, Dean Jenkinson, Geri Hall, Nathan Fielder

#### YOUTH

*The Latest Buzz* "The Gala Issue" Written by Brent Piaskoski

WGC Special Awards:

The WGC Showrunner Award – Mark Farrell (*Corner Gas, 22 Minutes*) The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize - *Cold Rush by* Riley Adams The WGC Writers Block Award – Karen Walton (*Ginger Snaps*, Ink Canada) The WGC Screenwriting Awards gratefully acknowledges the generous support of its sponsors. We couldn't do it without them.

## **Platinum sponsors:**



Toronto Film & Television Office