



Canada's top screenwriters honoured at the 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards

Toronto – April 15, 2008 – The Writers Guild of Canada celebrated the winning words of Canadian screenwriters last night at the 12th annual Canadian Screenwriting Awards. More than 125 scripts were nominated in the Awards' nine categories, and 33 finalist scripts vied for the winners' circle.

Screenwriters Mark Farrell and Robert Sheridan (*Corner Gas*), Denis McGrath and Robert Wertheimer (*Across the River to Motor City*) and Travis McDonald (*Normal*) were just of few of those recognized for outstanding scripts. A complete list of winners is attached.

The awards were hosted by **Gavin Crawford**, and written by **Kyle Tingley** and Gavin Crawford. Gavin was also among the winners for his part in an ensemble *22 Minutes* script – this presented a unique problem: when the host is making an acceptance speech, how can you play him off?

Dishing the awards were special presenters including Yannick Bisson (Murdoch Mysteries), Nazneen Contractor (The Border), Ngozi Paul ('da Kink in My Hair), Suzette Couture (Haven; Conspiracy of Silence), James Hurst (Degrassi: TNG; Sophie) and Paul Mather (Little Mosque; Corner Gas).

Screenwriter **Shelley Eriksen** presented the 2nd Annual WGC Showrunner Award to **Peter Mohan**, who was recognized for his exceptional leadership and creative vision.

For more information, or to set up an interview with a 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Award Winner, please contact David Kinahan, 416-979-7907 x5234.

more...

12th Annual Screenwriting Awards Winners

CHILDREN & PRESCHOOL

Iggy Arbuckle "Petition Impossible" Written by Kenn Scott

DOCUMENTARY

Toxic Trespass
Written by Barri Cohen

DRAMA SERIES 1/2 hour

Corner Gas "Seeing Things"
Written by Mark Farrell & Robert Sheridan

DRAMA SERIES 1 hour

Across the River to Motor City "Happy Birthday, Mr. President" Written by Denis McGrath & Robert Wertheimer

FEATURE FILM

Normal Written by Travis McDonald

MOW or MINISERIES

Dragon Boys Written by Ian Weir

RADIO DRAMA

Afghanada "Episode 12" Written by Jason Sherman, Adam Pettle & Greg Nelson

VARIETY

This Hour Has 22 Minutes XIV "Episode 17"

Head Writer: Kevin White / Written by Kevin White, Mark Critch, Irwin Barker, Gavin Crawford, Gary Pearson, Jennifer Whalen, Carolyn Taylor, Albert Howell, Dave Nystrom, Geri Hall, Todd Allen, Tim McAuliffe

YOUTH

Naturally Sadie "In or Out of Africa" Written by Brent Piaskoski

WGC Special Awards

The WGC Showrunner Award – Peter Mohan

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize - Tony Elliott for Stranger Than You

The Alex Barris Mentorship Award - Allan Magee

The WGC Writers Block Award - Jack Blum, Jeremy Hole, & Ann MacNaughton

The Canadian Screenwriting Awards gratefully acknowledges the generous support of its sponsors. We couldn't do it without them.

Diamond sponsors:



Platinum sponsors:







Gold sponsors:







TEMPLE STREET PRODUCTIONS





Silver Sponsors:

Barna-Alper Productions Inc. Foundry Films Inc. Goodmans LLP John Hektor, Editor in association with Fusion Sound and Picture Shaw Rocket Fund

Bronze Sponsors:

9 Story Entertainment Astral Media The Harold Greenberg Fund Bell Broadcast and New Media Fund/Cogeco Program Development Fund/ Independent Production Fund

Breakthrough Films & Television

Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association

Corus Entertainment Inc. **Epitome Pictures Inc**

Halifax Film, a DHX Media Company

Marinucci & Company, Chartered Accountants

Rhombus Media

Serendipity Point Films

Toronto Film & Television Office

VisionTV (an S-VOX company)

Buffalo Gal Pictures

CCI Entertainment Ltd.

DECODE Entertainment Inc.

Great North Artists Management Inc.

the Jennifer Hollyer Agency inc.

Parent Management Inc.

Sarrazin Couture Entertainment

Telefilm Canada

Vérité Films and 335 Productions