



WGC Screenwriting Awards 2021 Winners Announced Daniel Levy, Tracey Deer, Morwyn Brebner among top prize winners

For immediate release

Toronto, April 26, 2021 — In a funny, engaging and lively virtual ceremony, held this evening, host Emma Hunter announced the winners of the 25th-annual Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards.

Some winners of 2021's top prizes include Daniel Levy (*Schitt's Creek*), Tracey Deer & Meredith Vuchnich (*Beans*), Penny Gummerson (*Trickster*), and Jonny Harris, Fraser Young, Graham Chittenden and Steve Dylan (*Still Standing*).

Special Awards were also presented to Kate Hewlett, winner of the Sondra Kelly Award, and Travis McDonald, who was awarded the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize. Morwyn Brebner, creator and showrunner of hit CBC series *Coroner*, received the night's final prize, the WGC Showrunner Award.

Please see below for the complete list of winning scripts and screenwriters.

The 26th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards are set for April 25, 2022 at Toronto's Koerner Hall, where the WGC will also celebrate the 25th anniversary milestone. In the meantime, 2021's presentation will be posted to the WGC YouTube Channel.

A digital program, listing all nominations, nominees and special award winners, is also available for download.

Congratulations to our finalists and winners! @WGCtweet #WGCAwards

For more information contact:

Lana Castleman, WGC Director of Communications m: 416-721-5705, e: l.castleman@wgc.ca





2021 WGC SCREENWRITING AWARDS WINNERS

CHILDREN'S

Odd Squad Mobile Unit, "Slow Your Roll" I Written by Mark De Angelis

COMEDY SERIES

Schitt's Creek, "Happy Ending" I Written by Daniel Levy

DOCUMENTARY

Still Standing, "Rankin Inlet" I Written by Jonny Harris, Fraser Young, Graham Chittenden, Steve Dylan

DRAMA SERIES

Trickster, "Episode 105" | Story by **Michelle Latimer and Tony Elliott and Penny Gummerson**, Teleplay by **Penny Gummerson**

FEATURE FILM

Beans I Story by Tracey Deer, Screenplay by Tracey Deer and Meredith Vuchnich

MOW & MINISERIES

Gourmet Detective: Roux the Day | Written by Becky Southwell & Dylan Neal

PRESCHOOL

Dino Dana, "The Sound of Dinosaurs" I Written by J.J. Johnson

SHORTS & WEBSERIES

Try to Fly | Written by Simone Swan & The Affolter Brothers

TWEENS & TEENS

Utopia Falls, "The World is Yours" I Written by Joseph Mallozzi & R.T. Thorne

SONDRA KELLY AWARD

Kate Hewlett

JIM BURT SCREENWRITING PRIZE

Magnificent | Written by Travis McDonald

SHOWRUNNER AWARD

Morwyn Brebner

ABOUT THE WGC

The Writers Guild of Canada represents more than 2,400 professional English-language screenwriters across Canada, the creators of Canadian entertainment enjoyed on all screens. **WGC.ca @WGCtweet**