

Canadian Screenwriting Awards

MAKE HISTORY AT OUR 10TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS

For release Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Canada's best screenwriters honoured at the 2006 Canadian Screenwriting Awards

Screenwriters **Brent Butt** and **Paul Mather** (*Corner Gas*), **Susin Nielsen** (*Robson Arms*) and **Suzette Couture** (*The Man Who Lost Himself*) were just a few of the people recognized for outstanding scripts at the 2006 Canadian Screenwriting Awards, presented by the Writers Guild of Canada (WGC).

On Monday night Canada's top screenwriters joined host **Scott Thompson** at the Brant House in Toronto to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Canadian Screenwriting Awards, which was produced and written by WGC member **Luciano Casimiri**.

The Canadian Screenwriting Awards are different from all other industry awards, as the entries are judged solely on the merits of the script – not the produced television/radio program or film. Although there were several guest presenters on hand to give out awards, including actor and screenwriter **Gordon Pinsent** (*Heyday!*, *The Rowdyman*), and actors **Eric Peterson** and **Lorne Cardinal** (*Corner Gas*), the real stars this night were the nominated screenwriters, who often don't get the chance to shine in the spotlight.

Screenwriters honoured during the evening include Susan Coyne, Bob Martin and Mark McKinney (*Slings & Arrows*), Jeff Biederman (*Life With Derek*), Mary Crawford & Alan Templeton (*King*), Robert Duncan (*Woodward's: The Competition*), Jason Sherman (*Graf*), and Wil Zmak (*The Dark Hours*). A full list of the winners accompanies this press release.

In addition, the Alex Barris Mentorship Award was given out to Alberta-based writer and teacher **Josh Miller**, who has helped launch the careers of many young screenwriters, and the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize for best unproduced miniseries/movie script was given to **Jason Hreno**. The WGC also honoured **Fred Yackman** with the Writers Block Award for his many years of service on council.

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) is the national association representing more than 1,800 screenwriters working in English-language film, television, radio, and new media. In addition to negotiating, administering and enforcing collective agreements with independent producers and broadcasters, the WGC works with government agencies to increase the support available to professional screenwriters, and increases the profile of screenwriters by holding this annual awards gala.

For more information, please contact Barb Farwell, Director of Communications, at 416-979-7907, ext. 5234, or <u>b.farwell@wgc.ca</u>.

– more –

The Canadian Screenwriting Awards gratefully acknowledges the support of its sponsors.

Diamond sponsors:



Silver sponsors: Barna-Alper Productions Inc., Goodmans LLP, the Jennifer Hollyer Agency inc., John Hektor – Editor – *in association with* Fusion Sound and Picture, Keatley Entertainment Ltd., S & S Productions Inc., Screen Door, Shaw Rocket Fund, Temple Street Productions Limited. Bronze sponsors: Astral Media, Astral Media The Harold Greenberg Fund, Bell Broadcast and New Media Fund/Cogeco Program Development Fund/Independent Production Fund, Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association, Corus Entertainment Inc., Epitome Pictures Inc., Great North Artists Management Inc., Marinucci & Company, Parent Management Inc., Sarrazin Couture Entertainment, Serendipity Point Films, Studio B Productions, Telefilm Canada, Vérité Films and 335 Productions, and Vision TV

– more –

Winners of the 2006 CANADIAN SCREENWRITING AWARDS

CHILDREN & PRESCHOOL

King: *"Stolen Voices"* Written by Mary Crawford & Alan Templeton

COMEDY & VARIETY

Corner Gas: *"Dog River Vice"* Written by Brent Butt & Paul Mather

DOCUMENTARY Woodward's: The Competition Written by Robert Duncan

DRAMA SERIES (1/2 Hour) Robson Arms: "*Dancing the Horizontal Mambo*" Written by Susin Nielsen

DRAMA SERIES (1 HOUR) Slings & Arrows: *"Steeped in Blood"* Written by Susan Coyne & Bob Martin & Mark McKinney

FEATURE FILM

The Dark Hours Written by Wil Zmak

MOW & MINISERIES

The Man Who Lost Himself Written by Suzette Couture

RADIO DRAMA

Graf: *"Episode 1"* Written by Jason Sherman

YOUTH

Life With Derek: "*The Party*" Written by Jeff Biederman

ALEX BARRIS MENTORSHIP AWARD Josh Miller

JIM BURT SCREENWRITING PRIZE

Two Mountains Written by Jason Hreno

WRITERS BLOCK AWARD

Fred Yackman