Skip to main content

Special Awards Nominations Now Open

Vance on stage

On Monday, May 13, 2024, the Guild will hold the 28th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards in Toronto! Nominations are now open for the following special awards.

The 18th annual WGC Showrunner Award: This prestigious award honours a recognized showrunner who has demonstrated great writing skills, leadership abilities, generosity, integrity, and more. Past recipients include Susin Nielsen (2023), Anthony Q. Farrell (2022), Morwyn Brebner (2021), Dennis Heaton (2020), Emily Andras (2019), Michael MacLennan (2018) and Aaron Martin (2017). Apply here.

The Sondra Kelly Award: This award honours the life and career of longtime WGC member Sondra Kelly. Generously supported by AFBS, it provides $5,000 to a woman-identifying screenwriter in mid-career for research/development on a self-initiated project. Apply here.

The Alex Barris Mentorship Award: Named in honour of the writer, broadcaster and journalist, this award acknowledges one screenwriter who has made an outstanding commitment to help another screenwriter — or several screenwriters — get ahead in the business. Apply here.

The deadline for all three awards is March 19, 2024.

Please contact Naomi at [email protected] if you have any questions. 

More News


Script of the Month - March 2024


WGC Script of the Month


Nominations Open - WGC 2024 Council/National Writers Forum Elections


Bargaining Update - January 27, 2024


Showrunners and Unions Support WGC

crucial step

WGC Congratulates Minister St-Onge on Release of Bill C-11 Policy Direction to the CRTC

All news