Skip to main content

2024 Special Awards Nominations Now Open

Vance on stage

On Monday, May 13, 2024, the Guild will hold the 28th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards in Toronto! Nominations are now open for the following special awards.

The 18th annual WGC Showrunner Award: This prestigious award honours a recognized showrunner who has demonstrated great writing skills, leadership abilities, generosity, integrity, and more. Past recipients include Susin Nielsen (2023), Anthony Q. Farrell (2022), Morwyn Brebner (2021), Dennis Heaton (2020), Emily Andras (2019), Michael MacLennan (2018) and Aaron Martin (2017). Apply here.

The Sondra Kelly Award: This award honours the life and career of longtime WGC member Sondra Kelly. Generously supported by AFBS, it provides $5,000 to a woman-identifying screenwriter in mid-career for research/development on a self-initiated project. Apply here.

The Alex Barris Mentorship Award: Named in honour of the writer, broadcaster and journalist, this award acknowledges one screenwriter who has made an outstanding commitment to help another screenwriter — or several screenwriters — get ahead in the business. Apply here.

The deadline for all three awards is March 19, 2024.

Please contact Naomi at [email protected] if you have any questions. 

More News


WGC 2024 Screenwriting Awards Gala Tickets Now on Sale


Script of the Month - April 2024

WGC 2024 Full Election Results Available

WGC 2024 Council and National Forum Election Results


2024 WGC Awards Finalist Announcement

new update

Bargaining Update - March 7, 2024


2024 WGC Elections Now Open, and Acclamation Results Announced

All news