Skip to main content

Jim Burt Prize Finalists Announced


The WGC is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2019 Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize, which will be presented at the WGC Screenwriting Awards gala on April 29, 2019. 

The Guild would like to congratulate the following nominees for the 2019 Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize:

Change on the Fly
Written by Allen Markuze
Harbour House
Written by Amir Kahnamouee

Like a Thief in the Night
Written by Kyle D’Odorico

Written by Pat Holden

The award was created in 2002 to continue the work of the late Jim Burt in recognizing and nurturing screenwriting talent. In a 20-year career at the CBC, Jim’s championing of Canadian screenwriters and their stories resulted in the production of some 75 longform dramas, including Big Bear, The Boys of St. Vincent, Little Criminals and Million Dollar Babies.  

Tickets for this year's WGC Screenwriting Awards gala, hosted by Gavin Crawford, are currently on sale. The full list of 2019 nominees is available here.

More News


Guidance on the Writer's Agreement for CMF Program

fan expo

FanExpo Podcast Now Available


Setting the record straight on the "Netflix tax debate"


Third Diversity Script of the Month Application Round Opens


WGC makes recs for inclusion of digital to CPE


Mary Kills People Podcast Now Available

All news