Skip to main content

Showrunner & Sondra Kelly Awards call for nominations

WGC Screenwriting Awards logo

The WGC is currently accepting nominations for the 13th-annual WGC Showrunner Award, which will be presented on April 29th, 2019, at the WGC Screenwriting Awards. The award puts Canada’s best showrunners on centre stage to recognize their role as the true creative force that drives the development and production of television series.

The Guild is also calling for nominees for the Sondra Kelly Award. The $5,000 prize is open to mid-career female screenwriters looking to research/develop a self-initiated project. Sondra Kelly was a longtime member of the WGC. In addition to serving on the WGC Council from January 1997 to December 2003, Sondra occupied the first WGC-designated seat on the Actra Fraternal Benefit Society (AFBS) board (1998-2003). Hers was the first writer’s voice on a board made up of actors, producers and broadcasters at a time when it was much needed. Generously supported by the AFBS, the award honours her dedication and contribution.  

The deadline for entries for both the WGC Showrunner and Sondra Kelly Awards is FRIDAY, MARCH 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm EST

A list of eligibility requirements and the entry form for the WGC Showrunner Award is available here. 

The entry form and eligibility requirements for the Sondra Kelly Award is available here

More News


Opinion: Shaw's sell-off of Corus shares expected, disappointing


Denis McGrath Bursary Award Open for Donations


What you need to know to apply to the CMF Early Stage Development Program


WGC Screenwriting Awards 2019 Winners Announced


CMF Info Session: May 3

WGC Screenwriting Awards

WGC Screenwriting Awards Presenters Announced

All news