The WGC Announces New 2020-2022 Council

For immediate release

MAY 1, 2020 — The Writers Guild of Canada has named its new Council for the two-year term of May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2022. Dennis Heaton was re-elected by WGC members and resumes his role as President.

Vancouver-based Heaton (showrunner *Motive, The Order*) is joined on the Council's executive by returning Vice President Andrew Wreggitt (*Fortunate Son*) and Treasurer Alex Levine (*Orphan Black*). Previously a Councillor, he takes over the role of Treasurer from Mark Ellis (*Flashpoint, X Company*), who has stepped down after 10 years.

"On behalf of the WGC membership, I'd like to thank Mark for his decade of service on Council," said Executive Director, Maureen Parker. "He's made an invaluable contribution to bettering the working environment for screenwriters over the past 10 years."

Also returning to the WGC Council for the next term are Michael Amo (*Pure*), Marsha Greene (*Coroner*) and Anne-Marie Perotta (*Big Top Academy*). Joining the group is newly elected Councillor Lienne Sawatsky. She is a creator, showrunner, story consultant and award-winning screenwriter based in Toronto and is the co-creator and executive producer of the offbeat and hilarious Teletoon animated series *Wishfart*.

Working alongside Parker, the new WGC Council is ready to protect and advance the rights of Canadian creators as the industry faces a period of unprecedented change.

For more information contact:

Lana Castleman, Director of Communications 416-979-7907 ext. 5234; l.castleman@wgc.ca