More News

Congratulations, CSA Winners

January 16, 2018

Congratulations to the WGC members who won 2018 Canadian Screen Awards. At the final gala, broadcast live March 11, the best drama series went to Anne, best comedy to Kim's Convenience; best sketch comedy to Baroness von Sketch Show, and best limited series to Alias Grace. Plus, Murdoch Mysteries won the Golden Screen Award for Drama for most watched show. Congrats to all the writers! Please continue reading to view all the nominees and the winners in the writing categories of this year's awards.  
Winners are highlighted in bold
Best Writing, Drama Series
Anne – I Am No Bird, And No Net Ensnares Me
CBC (CBC/Netflix)
(Northwood Entertainment)
Moira Walley-Beckett
Mary Kills People – Bloody Mary
Global (Corus Entertainment)
(Cameron Pictures)
Tara Armstrong
Mary Kills People – Wave The White Flag
Global (Corus Entertainment)
(Cameron Pictures)
Marsha Greene
Orphan Black – To Right The Wrongs of Many
Space (Bell Media)
(Boat Rocker Media)
Graeme Manson, Renee St. Cyr
Wynonna Earp – I Hope You Dance
Space (Bell Media)
(SEVEN24 Films Inc.)
Emily Andras
Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series
Alias Grace
(Halfire Entertainment)
Sarah Polley
Bad Blood
City (Rogers Media)
(New Metric Media Inc.)
Michael Konyves
CTV (Bell Media)
(JCardinal Productions Inc.)
Aubrey Nealon
The Disappearance
CTV (Bell Media)
(Productions Casablanca Inc.)
Geneviève Simard, Normand Daneau
Murdoch Mysteries - Once Upon a Murdoch Christmas
Carol Hay, Michelle Ricci, Paul Aitken
Best Writing, Comedy
Kim's Convenience – Business Award
(Thunderbird Entertainment)
Matt Kippen
Kim's Convenience – Resting Place
(Thunderbird Entertainment)
Anita Kapila
Letterkenny - Relationships
CraveTV (Bell Media)
(New Metric Media Inc.)
Jacob Tierney, Jared Keeso
Nirvanna the Band the Show – The Bean
Viceland (Rogers Media)
(Vice Studio Canada Inc.)
Jay McCarrol, Matthew Miller, Robert Hyland, Curt Lobb, Jared Raab, Andrew Appelle
Schitt's Creek – Opening Night
(Not A Real Company Productions, Inc.)
Daniel Levy
Best Writing, Children's or Youth
Degrassi: Next Class - #ImSleep
Family Channel (DHX Media)
(DHX Studios)
Matt Huether
Degrassi: Next Class - #IRegretNothing
Family Channel (DHX Media)
(DHX Studios)
Sarah Glinski
L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables: Fire & Dew 
YTV (Corus Entertainment)
(Breakthrough Entertainment)
Susan Coyne
The Next Step – A New Regime
Family Channel (DHX Media)
(Radical Sheep Productions)
Rachael Schaefer
Odd Squad – Drop Gadget Repeat/20 Questions
(Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Adam Peltzman
Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy
Baroness von Sketch Show – It Satisfies on a Very Basic Level
(Frantic Films)
Carolyn Taylor, Meredith MacNeill, Aurora Browne, Jennifer Whalen, Jennifer Goodhue, Monica Heisey, Mae Martin, Zoe Whittall
The Beaverton – Episode 201
The Comedy Network (Bell Media)
(Pier 21 Films Inc.)
Jeff Detsky, Luke Gordon Field, Alexander Saxton, Jacob Duarte Spiel, Kurt Smeaton, Pat Dussault, Nile Seguin, Wendy Litner, Winter Tekenos Levy
Rick Mercer Report – Episode 7
(Island Edge Inc.)
Rick Mercer, Greg Eckler, Tim Steeves, George Westerholm, Rick Currie, Chris Finn
This Hour Has 22 Minutes – Episode 4
(DHX-Hour Productions XXIV)
Mark Critch, Bob Kerr, Mike Allison, Susan Kent, Greg Thomey, Heidi Brander, Adam Christie, Scott Vrooman, Matt Wright, Rebecca Raftus, Emma Overton, Dean Jenkinson
Best Writing, Animation
3 Amigonauts – Cheese Your Own Adventure
YTV (Corus Entertainment)
(9 Story Media Group)
Craig Brown
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – So I Married a Watermelon
YTV (Corus Entertainment)
(DHX Media)
Mark Edwards
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – When I Was Your Age
YTV (Corus Entertainment)
(DHX Media)
Betsy Walters
Hotel Transylvania – Adventures in Vampiresitting
Teletoon (Corus Entertainment)
(Nelvana Limited)
Mark Steinberg
Mysticons – Sisters in Arms
YTV (Corus Entertainment)
(Nelvana Limited)
Sean Jara
Best Writing, Documentary
Building Star Trek
Discovery Channel (Bell Media)
(Yap Films)
Mick Grogan
Hunting Nazi Treasure – City of Loot
History (Corus Entertainment)
(Saloon Media)
Hugh Hardy
Mohamed Fahmy - Half Free
(Entertainment One Television)
David Paperny, Ted Tozer
Searching for Vimy's Lost Soldiers
History (Corus Entertainment)
(Breakthrough Entertainment)
Norm Christie
Unstoppable: The Fentanyl Epidemic
(Dam Builder Productions)
Robert Osborne
Best Writing, Factual
Global National 
CHAN (Corus Entertainment)
(Global National)
Eric Sorensen
Heavy Rescue: 401  - Anything Can Happen
Discovery Channel (Bell Media)
(Great Pacific Media)
Todd Serotiuk, Catharine Parke
The Life-Sized City - Medellin
(DBC2 inc.)
Michel D.T. Lam, Mikael Colville-Andersen, Nicolas Boucher, Myriam Berthelet
Still Standing – Fort McMurray
(Frantic Films)
Jonny Harris, Fraser Young, Steve Dylan, Graham Chittenden
Wild Bear Rescue – A Cub with a Kick
Animal Planet (Bell Media)
(Omnifilm Entertainment Ltd.)
Jenypher Fisher
Best Writing, Lifestyle or Reality/Competition
The Amazing Race Canada – Can I See Your Kuna?
CTV (Bell Media)
(Insight Production Company Ltd.)
Mark Lysakowski, Rob Brunner, Matthew Hanson
The Amazing Race Canada – We Just Saw Johnny Mustard
CTV (Bell Media)
(Insight Production Company Ltd.)
Mark Lysakowski, Jennifer Pratt, Rob Brunner
The JUNO Awards 2017
CTV (Bell Media)
(Insight Production Company Ltd.)
Kim Clarke Champniss, Jean Paul
Survivorman & Son - Mongolia
OLN (Rogers Media)
(SM & Son II Inc.)
Les Stroud
Top Chef Canada – All-Stars Assemble
Food Network Canada (Corus Entertainment)
(Insight Production Company Ltd.)
Eric Abboud, Jessica Capobianco
Adapted Screenplay | Meilleure adaptation
Anita Doron - The Breadwinner
Nicole Bélanger - Cross My Heart | Les rois mongols
Gabriel Sabourin - It's the Heart that Dies Last | C'est le coeur qui meurt en dernier
Simon Lavoie - The Little Girl Who Was Too Fond of Matches | La petite fille qui aimait trop les allumettes
Susan Coyne - The Man Who Invented Christmas
Original Screenplay | Meilleur scenario
Josh Epstein, Kyle Rideout - Adventures in Public School
Sadaf Foroughi – Ava
Sarah Kolasky, Adam Garnet Jones - Great Great Great
Sherry White – Maudie
Kathleen Hepburn - Never Steady, Never Still


Canadian Screenwriter summer 2018 is on newsstands now. View excerpts, and subscribe here.

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31     

  List of all Events