More News

Michelle Lovretta First Recipient of TriBro Initiative

November 25, 2015

Congratulations to WGC member Michelle Lovretta, showrunner of Killjoys, on being the first recipient of an incentive by TriBro Studios designed to encourage productions helmed by women. The incentive program cuts fees in half, with the intention being to "encourage productions led by women in creative positions within the film and television industry," a measure designed to help close the industry's gender gap. To find out more, view the TriBro Studios press release.

Reality/Factual Writers and the WGC

November 6, 2015

The WGC has published a pamphlet called Reality/Factual Writers and the WGC. It explains how the guild works with writers and story editors in the reality/factual sphere. You can read the pamphlet here.

Read More

WTTV: This Life, with Showrunner Joseph Kay

November 2, 2015

The next edition of Writers Talking TV, the WGC's spotlight on showrunners, features This Life showrunner Joseph Kay interviewed by fellow screenwriter Cal Coons. This edition of WTTV takes place at the Canadian International TV Festival. It's free and open to all, but make sure to RSVP to ensure you have a seat.

WHEN: Nov. 17, 7 p.m.
WHERE: TIFF Bell Lightbox, 350 King St. West, Toronto
RSVP: Holly LaFlamme

Read More

WGC at the Reel Asian Film Festival

November 6, 2015

The 19th annual Toronto Reel Asian International Film Festival is underway, and the WGC is pleased to be a community partner. WGC members Adam Barken, Doug Hadders, and Nathalie Younglai will share their insights on writing and producing during the festival.

Read More

Mélanie Joly, New Heritage Minister

November 5, 2015

Mélanie Joly was named as Minister of Canadian Heritage when the new Liberal government in Ottawa released its cabinet postings on Nov. 4. Ms. Joly is a lawyer, public relations expert, and is known as a supporter of arts and culture. She is a recipient of the Arnold Edinborough award, which recognizes a young business professional who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and volunteerism in the arts.

Read More

"Hot" New Canadian Screenwriter Magazine Out

October 29, 2015

The latest edition of Canadian Screenwriter magazine is out, featuring "Dennis Heaton: Fired Up Over Motive," a look at how the showrunner and writing room of the popular "whydunnit," Motive, dunnit. Other features include "Game On," getting inside the growing world of writing for games, and "L'Adaptation," on the challenges of adapting French language TV shows for English audiences. More details and subscription information here.

Steve Lucas Leads Diverse Screenwriters Bootcamp

October 22, 2015

It’s the final year of the Bell Media Diverse Screenwriters program, and it’s a pleasure to announce the return of Steve Lucas as workshop leader for the last bootcamp. Steve has more than 30 years writing, producing, showrunning, and story-editing experience, with credits including The Border and Blue Murder. He also has extensive experience designing and delivering television-training programs. Steve is currently program coordinator and screenwriting instructor of Centennial College’s Advanced Television and Film – Script to Screen post-graduate program. We look forward to the fresh ideas Steve will bring to the curriculum.

Final CMF Consultations

October 22, 2015

The Canada Media Fund (CMF) is wrapping up its cross-country consultations next week with three final stops, in Ottawa, Iqaluit, and St. John’s. The CMF uses this consultation process to gather information on the state of the industry and to get feedback on potential funding changes for the following year, making it worthwhile for screenwriters to attend. You can get more information on the CMF consultations here, and register here.

Political Discussion on Industry's Future

October 2, 2015

WGC members are invited to a political discussion on the future of the screen-based industries, featuring three federal candidates: Rick Dykstra (Conservative), Stéphane Dion (Liberal), and Andrew Cash (NDP).
When: Oct. 7, 3 p.m.
Where: TIFF Bell Lightbox, 350 King St. West.
UPDATE: The event is over but can be viewed on video here.


November 5, 2015


Fall 2015
On newsstands, or subscribe.

Photo by Jeff Weddell

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
  1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31   
DECEMBER 3, 2015
  • WGC Holiday Party, Toronto

DECEMBER 3, 2015

WGC Holiday Party, Toronto

Annual WGC Holiday Party, Toronto (invitation only).

DECEMBER 7, 2015
  • WGC Holiday Party, Vancouver

DECEMBER 7, 2015

WGC Holiday Party, Vancouver

Annual WGC Holiday Party, Vancouver. (Members may bring non-member guests. Admission $10 for non-members).

DECEMBER 8, 2015
  • WGC Holiday Party, Montreal

DECEMBER 8, 2015

WGC Holiday Party, Montreal

Annual WGC Holiday Party, Montreal (Invitation Only)

  List of all Events