The Sondra Kelly Award

The Sondra Kelly Award provides $5,000 to a female screenwriter in mid-career for research/development on a self-initiated project. This is the sixth year since its inception, and past recipients include Karen Walton (2009), Mina Shum (2010), Barbara Haynes (2011), Colleen Murphy (2012), and Cheryl Foggo (2013).

The winner of the 2015 Sondra Kelly Award is Alison Lea Bingeman, for her feature proposal, Emily and Sophie. The award was presented to Alison by WGC Executive Director Maureen Parker the WGC Screenwriting Awards, held on April 27, 2015.

About The Sondra Kelly Award

Sondra Kelly was a longtime member of the Writers Guild of Canada. In 2007, she received the WGC Writers Block Award for her record of exceptional service to the WGC and her strengthening of the Canadian screenwriting community as a whole. In addition to serving on the WGC Council from January 1997 to December 2003, Sondra occupied the first WGC-designated seat on the Actra Fraternal Benefits Society (AFBS) board (1998 to 2003). Hers was the first writer’s voice on a board made up of actors, producers and broadcasters at a time when a writer’s voice was much needed.
This award in her memory honours Sondra’s dedication and contribution. We thank all those that entered to help us celebrate Sondra’s life and achievements through this award.


Summer 2015
On newsstands, or subscribe.

Photo by Christina Gapic

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
   1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
JULY 15, 2015
  • Deadline Bell Fund, various programs

JULY 15, 2015

Deadline Bell Fund, various programs

Deadline — Bell Fund, various programs

JULY 27, 2015
  • Montreal World Film Festival

JULY 27, 2015

Montreal World Film Festival

27-Sept.7 — Montreal World Film Festival

  List of all Events