2007 Canadian Screenwriting Awards

On April 23, Canada’s top screenwriters joined host Gavin Crawford at the Brant House in Toronto to celebrate the 11th annual Canadian Screenwriting Awards.  

The show was co-written by Gavin Crawford and Kyle Tingley, and several guest presenters were on hand to give out awards, including actors Sheila McCarthy and Sitara Hewitt from Little Mosque on the Prairie, showrunner Susin Nielsen and actor Linda Kash from Robson Arms, and writer/director/actor Don McKellar.  

The WGC gratefully acknowledges the generosity of our sponsors. Thank you for being our partners in celebrating excellence in Canadian screenwriting.  For a complete list of sponsors, click here.

Gavin Crawford brought a hilarious insider's perspective as
host of the 2007 Canadian Screenwriting Awards


2007 Canadian Screenwriting Award Winners


If the World Were a Village  
Written by Kate Barris


Corner Gas “Outside Joke”
Written by Brent Butt & Kevin White

Sarah Dodd (right) congratulates Kate Barris
on her win for best children and preschool script

Brent Piaskoski accepts his award for youth writing for Naturally, Sadie


The Bomber’s Dream
Written by Barry Stevens


Naturally Sadie “Rashomon”
Written by Brent Piaskoski


Naked Josh “Beating the Rap”
Written by Laura Kosterski


Slings & Arrows “That Way Madness Lies”
Written by Susan Coyne, Bob Martin, Mark McKinney

Laura Kosterski nabbed the 1/2 hour drama series award for Naked Josh

Don McKellar adjusts the microphone for Sarah Polley as she accepts the award for best feature script


Away From Her
Written by Sarah Polley


Above and Beyond
Written by John W. Doyle and Lisa Porter


Afghanada “Episode 4”
Written by Andrew Moodie, Greg Nelson,
Adam Pettle and Jason Sherman

WGC Showrunner Award

Brad Wright
Stargate Atlantis/Stargate SG-1

Brad Wright (Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis) was the winner of the first ever WGC Showrunner Award 

Producer Ilana Frank is the recipient of the Alex Barris Mentorship Award for her work with screenwriters

Alex Barris Mentorship Award

Ilana Frank

Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize

Bone - Written by Ryan Redford

Writers Block Award

Sondra Kelly and Sugith Varughese

Newfoundland-based John W. Doyle and Lisa Porter win for best MOW & miniseries for the World War II miniseries Above and Beyond

Actors Sitara Hewitt and Sheila McCarthy from Little Mosque on the Prairie presented the award for best comedy & variety script

Actor Linda Kash from Robson Arms was one of the special
guest celebrities who presented an award at the festivities

Canadian Screenwriter summer 2018 is on newsstands now. View excerpts, and subscribe here.

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31    

  List of all Events