Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize

The Writers Guild of Canada is pleased to announce the call for entries for the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize. The prize was created to continue the work of the late Jim Burt in recognizing and nurturing new longform screenwriting talent by awarding development support to an exceptionally promising unproduced longform screenplay that tells a Canadian story.

The winner, announced at the WGC Screenwriting Awards on April 27, 2015, will be presented with a total prize worth $3,500. The winner will receive a $1,500 cash prize, and $2,000 will be allotted for an experienced story editor of the jury’s choosing in order to further develop their script.  

Open to entries: Monday, Oct. 13, 2014
Deadline for entries: Friday, Jan. 9, 2015, 5:30 p.m. EST

Click here for eligibility information and entry form.


In a 20-year career at the CBC, Jim Burt championing of Canadian writers and their stories resulted in the production of some 75 longform dramas including The War Between Us, The Boys of St. Vincent, The Arrow, Peacekeepers, and Nights Below Station Street. These productions met with national and international acclaim and embodied excellence in Canadian storytelling.

The winning screenplay is determined by a jury, which selects the best unproduced longform screenplay telling a Canadian story in the tradition of the projects Jim Burt championed.

The last winner of the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize, presented at the 17th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards was Adam Garnet Jones for his screenplay, Wild Medicine. Congratulations, Adam.

The Jim Burt Award is made possible with the generous support of individual donors as well as:






Summer 2014
On newsstands, or subscribe.

Photo by Christina Gapic

Hot Issues
Hot Issues
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
   1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
OCTOBER 24, 2014
  • Meet the Directors

OCTOBER 24, 2014

Meet the Directors

11th annual "Meet the Directors" with 2014 DGC Award nominated directors: Peter Stebbings - Empire of Dirt, Jason Priestley - Cas & Dylan,  Michael Dowse - The F Word.


OCTOBER 28, 2014
  • Innoversity Creative Summit

OCTOBER 28, 2014

Innoversity Creative Summit

Innoversity Creative Summit: For more than a decade, Innoversity Creative Summit has reached out to media industry leaders, and creators from a broad diversity of backgrounds and skills.

  List of all Events