Alex Barris Mentorship Award

Recognizing the critical role of mentorship

Alex Barris was a writer, broadcaster and journalist; a pioneer of Canadian television, and proud member of the WGC. He was also a wonderful mentor, giving his time and talent to new writers just starting out in the industry. The Alex Barris Mentorship Award was created after his death in 2004, to keep his name and spirit alive and to perpetuate the tradition of mentorship.

The award acknowledges a mentor who has significantly helped a writer (or writers) get a start in the business. While the nominator must be a WGC member, the recipient need not be. 

The recipient of the 2014 Alex Barris Award, announced at the WGC Screenwriting Awards on April 28, 2014, is Susin Nielsen. Congratulations, Susin!

Previous winners of the Alex Barris Award include David Peddie (2005), Josh Miller (2006), Ilana Frank (2007), Allan Magee (2008), Peter Mitchell (2010), and Barbara Samuels (2012).


Spring 2015
On newsstands, or subscribe.

Photo by Christina Gapic

Hot Issues
Hot Issues
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
FEBRUARY 27, 2015
  • Women Making Waves Conference

FEBRUARY 27, 2015

Women Making Waves Conference

Women Making Waves conference (WIFT Atlantic)

  List of all Events